Tracking Stations

colonel murray's hill

Grand Turk tracking station|222
Grand Turk tracking station

Grand Turk was only one of 18 tracking stations used for the Mercury missions. They include: Cape Canaveral, Grand Bahama Island, Bermuda, Mid Atlantic ship, Canary Islands, Kano in Nigeria, Zanzibar, Indian Ocean Ship, Muchea and Woomera in Australia, Canton Island, Kauai in Hawaii, Point Arguello in California, Guaymas in Mexico, White Sands in New Mexico, Corpus Christi in Texas, Eglin in Florida and Grand Turk.

The Tracking Station on Grand Turk was called Colonel Murray’s Hill (now known by locals as Nookie Hill).